The part of the universe in which the Earth is located is called the Solar System. The Solar System is made up of the Sun, the 8 planets (including our Earth) which revolve around the Sun, and a huge asteroid system called the asteroid belt. Anything revolving around the Sun is considered part of the Solar System, and so included in the Solar System are things like the 5 dwarf planets, the moons of the various planets, and various comets and centaurs (which are similar to comets). All these things together make up what is known as our Solar System.

The Solar System is located in the Milky Way Galaxy, just one of the many galaxies that have been seen and studied in our universe. The Sun is a star, a relatively small one in comparison with others that have been observed in the universe. According to the calculations of astronomers and scientists the Sun measures about 1.392 million kilometres across, and is made up mostly of helium and hydrogen. The Sun’s heat and light are what allows life on the Earth to exist, as without it everything would die.

The eight planets of the Solar System are, in order from the closet to the Sun to the furthest, Mercury, Venus, Earth, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, and Neptune. As far as science has been able to discover the only planet that supports any form of life is the Earth, although there have been signs of possible life on Mars. The Earth is just the right distance from the Sun to be able to support life, as the closer planets are too hot and the further ones are too cold. Not only that, but no water has been observed on any other planets except the Earth and some of the planets furthest from the sun.

Mercury, Venus, Earth and Mars are grouped together into a category called the terrestrial planets because they are mainly composed of the same things. These four planets are mainly composed of rocks and metals, and are rather small compared to the gas giants, which are the other four planets, Saturn and Jupiter are mainly made up of gasses, and the other two, Venus and Neptune, seem to be composed primarily of ices.
The dwarf planet Pluto used to be considered one of the primary planets of the Solar System, but was taken down to the status of dwarf planet when other similar dwarf planets were discovered. Pluto and the other 4 dwarf planets are all located in the Kuiper belt, an area ranging on the outer area of the Solar System beginning from Neptune’s orbit.

The Solar System measures about 90 AU (astronomical units) or more than 14.5 billion kilometres across. The incredible vastness of the Solar System is nothing, however, when compared to the universe itself, which has never been measured and is full of mysteries and wonders science has yet to discover.